Scotland Premier League


Scotland Premier League

Top Scorers

Red Cards

Yellow Cards


  • Premiership Qualification
  • 2022/23
  • league
  • Scotland
  • May
  • June
  • Rangers FC
  • Hibernian

ABOUT Premiership Qualification

League Article

The Scottish Premiership represents the highest level of football in the country and is Scotland’s equivalent to the English Premier League.

Unlike England’s top tier, there are only 12 teams in the Scottish Premiership. Each club plays 38 league games in a season with the champions going on to play in Champions League qualifiers.

The season is split into two separate stages. The first stage sees each club play three games against all other sides in the competition. Once this has been completed, the league splits into two with the top six going on to fight for the title and European places, while the bottom six battle to avoid relegation.  

At the end of the season, the bottom team is automatically relegated to the Scottish Championship. Meanwhile, the team that finish second-bottom, takes on the play-off winners from the Championship in a two-legged tie. The winner secures their status as a Premiership side for the following campaign.