England League Cup


England League Cup


  • EFL Cup
  • 2022/23
  • cup
  • England
  • August
  • February


League Article

The League Cup was formed in 1960 and is a knockout football competition featuring clubs from the top four leagues in England.

This means that all 92 clubs from the Premier League, Championship, League One and League Two participate in this competition.

There are seven rounds in the League Cup which are normally all single-leg ties with the exception of the semi-finals which have a home and an away tie. The final is played at Wembley Stadium and is normally the only fixture in the competition to be played on a weekend.

Winners of the League Cup earn a spot in a European club competition. Up until now, this has been the UEFA Europa League however, from 2020/21 it will be the UEFA Europa Conference League.